What do good dogs see? Now You Know

News

My huMom has informed me that many dog toys are brightly colored. In fact the most popular colors for dog toys today are red or safety orange (the bright orange red on traffic cones or safety vests). However red is difficult for us dogs to see because we dogs don’t see color’s like humans do. So what do we see?

We do see colors, but they aren’t  as vibrant as what you see. Also we dogs don’t see as much of the color spectrum as you. The eyes of both humans & dogs contain light catching cells called cones that respond to color. Humans have three types of cones but we dogs only have two.

Good dogs see the colors of the world as basically yellow, blue & gray. We see the colors green, yellow & orange as yellowish, & we see violet & blue as blue. Blue-green is seen as a gray.

So that brightly colored toy might have caught your eye in the store but your good dog may have difficulty seeing it. Personally speaking, I’ve never had any problem seeing my Knotty Gnaw, just saying.

CEO Olivia

 

4 thoughts on “What do good dogs see? Now You Know

  1. Love it! Thank you for sharing! Someone just the other day was asking if dogs were colorblind or see colors. You have now given me a good answer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My huMom agrees; especially after being in the industry this long.
      With that said, huMom likes red coloured toys because they are easier to find inside or out.
      I personally don’t have an issue with finding my favourite toy (my Knotty Gnaw). I just use my nose 😉

      Nose nudges,
      CEO Olivia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

