David Hockney’s Dog Days

Canine Culture

dog days1

Today I want to share with you a book called, “Dog Days” by world famous artist David Hockney. David Hockney was born in England in 1937 & studied at the Royal College of Art. A contemporary of Andy Warhol he achieved international acclaim by his mid-twenties as part of the pop art movement & has gone on to become one of the best known artists of his generation. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

“Dog Days” introduces his two dachshunds, Stanley & Boodgie, in this delightful collection.

HOCKNET-PAINTING

Quoting Mr. Hockney, “From September 1993, I painted & drew my dogs. This took a certain amount of planning, since dogs are generally not interested in Art (I say generally only because I have now come across a singing dog). Food & love dominate their lives.
I make no apologies for the apparent subject matter. These two dear little creatures are my friends. They are intelligent, loving, comical & often bored. They watch me work; I notice the warm shapes they make together, their sadness
& their delights. Being Hollywood dogs, they somehow seem to know that a picture is being made”.

dog days 2

Hmm, I wonder if I could hold still long enough to be painted. Doubtful 😉

CEO Olivia

visit our shop

Leave a Reply

